Things that happened to my corgis lately

During the last couple of days, my corgis had a great day at the doggy daycare, a happy time at the vet’s office then the pet store, peaceful weekend days with us, and a bad moment of getting attacked by a crazy neighborhood dog. This is the story of what happened to my corgis since I wrote my last blog post.

Jeter fell asleep on the sofa

“I played so hard today…. “

On July 20th, Jeter and Cappy went to the Doggy Dojo. They were already so excited when I parked my car in front of DD. It’s been awhile since they went there so it was understandable for their being super excited. But, I’d rather see my corgis being a little bit calmer. Later in the afternoon, they came back home exhausted πŸ™‚ They had their dinner and fell asleep. Jeter was on the sofa and Cappy was on the floor. She was too tired to jump up on the sofa or even go on one of their doggy beds πŸ™‚ They were so slow when we took them out for the night walk. They wanted to go back home to sleep. The beauty of the doggy daycare center πŸ™‚

The next day, we took them to the vet’s office. Cappy needed to get her rabies shot. This time Dr. Andy gave her a 3-year vaccine. Jeter got his regular heartworm test and it turned out negative. Dr. Andy said they both are wonderfully healthy. But they need to lose some weight. Since I stopped running because of Pneumonia, they didn’t get enough exercise and that made them gain some weight. Anyway, they behaved so well at the vet’s office. There was a really cute husky puppy at the office named “Walter” and they played with him nicely. And they stayed calm with a big Bernese Mountain dog too. After the vet’s office visit, we went to the PetSmart to get somethings. Many people over there were smiling at our corgis. Jeter and Cappy showed some of their tricks to the people and got so many “Awww… so cute!!” compliments πŸ™‚ And they sat and waited nicely while we were paying. A woman who was behind us was so impressed and wanted to pet Jeter. He got some extra love and that made him a very happy corgi. When we were ready to leave the parking lot, we saw another corgi coming out of the store. I waved to that corgi’s owners and they smiled back. I’m always happy to see another corgi. When we came back home, Jeter and Cappy fell asleep right away. They were still a little bit tired from Friday’s all day playing at the DD, and they had so much excitement and mental stimulation from the vet’s office and the store. The rest of the day went nicely. But we had an unexpected bad experience at night and it still makes me so angry

On Saturday night, we were walking Jeter and Cappy and everything was good. But our peaceful night walk was interrupted by a mad mutt bitch named Yancy who ran away from her house. She ran towards to us at full speed and attacked Jeter. I think Yancy picked Jeter because at that time Cappy was standing behind me. It happened too fast for us to stop that dog. Jeter was trying to protect himself but Yancy didn’t stop. I got really furious and yelled “NO!!!!” at Yancy. I didn’t touch her but all of a sudden she backed down immediately with her tails between her legs and froze. I think she could feel my fury. I grabbed her collar until the owner came. He apologized several times and Jeter seemed to be okay but lost some of his fur. But that doesn’t mean I was okay. I saw Yancy go crazy many times before. She is very dog aggressive. But her owner is kind of in denial. She needs to get some proper, serious training. Yancy was lucky that night. If she didn’t back down immediately, I would do anything to save my Jeter. I can be very scary when it comes to protecting my loved ones!! That night, Jeter seemed to be okay but I was the one who couldn’t sleep because of the anger and some regret. I should’ve tackled Yancy like a football player before she attacked my boy!!

“Don’t worry. Jeter is okay. Mommy saved him from the crazy dog!!!”

Thankfully, even after that incident Jeter still keeps his cool. He didn’t get nervous around other dogs. I am so glad to see him like that. Since that night, I haven’t seen or heard the crazy Yancy when I walk near her house. Maybe at last the owner realized his dog’s problem and kept her on the second floor or did something. Usually, every time any dog was passing by that house, Yancy would go crazy and through herself violently into the glass part of the front door. The wood blinds of the front door are already destroyed by her. I always worried that she will break the glass of the front door to get outside someday and wondered why the owner keeps her on the first floor like that. Hopefully, this kind of incident will never happen to my corgis again.

Recently, they have been having good, uneventful days. They hung out on the stairs, got some treats for doing tricks, did some neighborhood watching on the window bench, and of course enjoyed corgi napping πŸ™‚ These are some pictures of them from the last few days.

Cappy’s various poses of sleeping πŸ™‚

One of Jeter’s favorite nap spots πŸ™‚

“This is my favorite pillow”

7 thoughts on “Things that happened to my corgis lately

      • I have an issue with the weight of my corgi (Sunny) too. With this very hot summer here in Midwest, she doesn’t even want to come close to the door; if I manage to get her out of the house she runs back immediately inside, there is no way I can make her take her usual walk, and obviously she has gained some weight. What do you do to make your corgis stay active during the summer? It’s a struggle for us, to keep her active. Plus she also likes to eat. She learned how to open the kitchen cabinets and she gets inside hoping to find some treats. I had to rearrange everything in the kitchen so she can’t reach any food. BTW your pics are very nice. Cappy on the stairs is adorable!! She looks very much like my Sunny:). It’s a please to see your corgis.

      • Corgis are notorious for gaining weight so easily πŸ™‚ Our corgis are not a fan of this hot weather too. They don’t want to go that far when we walk them. Taking them to run a couple of miles early in the morning is the best way but I couldn’t do that for awhile. So I just try to make them play more in the house. I use one of their favorite toys : “tail teaser” – looks like a fishing pole with a squirrel toy at the end – http://www.amazon.com/Kyjen-Tail-Teaser-Dog-Refill/dp/B0042I5G2I
        to make them run. I play fetch with Cappy. But I know that’s not enough. I need to take them out to run soon.
        We cut their treats and give them frozen green beans as the treats. Jeter and Cappy love them.
        It is cute Sunny uses her skill to steal the food. Very corgi like πŸ™‚

    • Yancy was always dog aggressive even when she was a puppy. I don’t think her owner did anything for her socialization training. I’m afraid one day she or her owner could face a very difficult situation because of that.

  1. I don’t blame you, I’m the same way about protecting my furry babies. We were just talking in puppy class the other night about not being able to train “stupid” people and I said unfortunately the people that need it the most don’t take their dogs to training to learn to deal with these behaviors. It’s not theoretical physics after all! I’m glade you and the pups are okay.

Leave a Reply

