Pneumonia / corgi nurses

Yes, like the title of this blog post says, I have pneumonia. Weeks ago I started to have a sore throat and bad cough. I don’t know what caused those problems exactly but somehow I got them. I took over the counter medicines but the symptoms got worse and because of the severe coughing, it was almost impossible for me to move around. I hate to go to see the doctor but even I admitted that I needed to go to see our family doctor. He prescribed azithromycin – commonly referred as Z-Pak – for 5 days and hoped that would clear the infection. But unfortunately, that wasn’t the case. I was still suffering from severe cough and chest pain. I couldn’t sleep at night and felt really sick. It was hard to live like that. So I went back to see the doctor again and after taking a chest X-ray, I got a diagnosis that I have pneumonia 😦

Our family doctor prescribed a more powerful antibiotic – Levofloxacin 500 mg – this time. I need to take this medicine for 10 days and today is day 4. He prescribed a cough medicine, too. “No exercise and strictly rest” was the doctor’s order. These medicine made me sleep. I’m  still coughing and feeling yucky but today for the first time since I got sick, I could move around without coughing my lungs out like an old sick dying smoker. Also for the first time in awhile, I have enough energy to sit down in front of computer and write a blog post. – If anyone was curious about my long silence, I apologize. But I was that sick. I know you would understand. – Levofloxacin is working. But it comes with a price. Levofloxacin is a strong antibiotic which is used to treat pneumonia and it is also used to prevent or slow anthrax after exposure. I’m experiencing some of the side effects from this medicine. I feel nauseous, and have some muscle weakness/soreness. And today is only Day 4. 6 more days to go. Sigh… 😦 And even after I finish the 10-day Levofloxacin treatment regimen, I still need to wait for weeks until I can run again. It is recommended to avoid doing any exercise for a while due to the risk of muscle tear and tendon rupture. So I have a long way to go.

Cappy and Jeter, my furry nurses 🙂

My husband is worrying about me and taking good care of me. My two little corgis have been such great nurses. When I was coughing a lot and suffering, Jeter and Cappy came to the bed and stayed next to me. They warmed me up and licked my face as if saying “Mommy, are you okay?” They slept with me during the day and made me smile. I feel sorry for them because I couldn’t take them to run for weeks. But I think they understand. They are such great pups and I’m glad they are with me. It would be so lonely and hard to deal with the pneumonia alone.

“Taking care of Mommy is a hard work… “

“Don’t worry, Mommy! We’re here for you!”

“Let’s howl for Mommy’s speedy recovery!!”

Since I’m still sick and need to rest more days, maybe you will not read a new blog post for awhile. Hopefully I will be back soon and can tell you about my running and loyal corgis. Until then, stay healthy for me. Jeter and Cappy send you lots of wet corgi kisses.

8 thoughts on “Pneumonia / corgi nurses

  1. Take care & get well soon! Love the photos of the Nurses! A good corgi cuddle can fix almost anything. You just need a few extra days of cuddling!

Leave a Reply

