Sudden chill

It was such a beautiful day today. Unlike last week, the temperature was perfect for running outside. But I didn’t run. Actually as of today, I have skipped my training three days in a row. I will tell you what happened.

On Sunday, I ran 6.2 miles. I ran in the morning but I didn’t go out that early and the temperature was already above 85 degrees when I started to run. That day I ran hard to pass and avoid a guy who really distracted me. Even though I drank water often, I sweated a lot during and after the run. The same afternoon, it was 97 degrees when I walked my dogs and I started to feel a little bit yucky. Then in the evening, while I was watching a baseball game on TV, I experienced a very sudden chill and my whole body was shaking uncontrollably. On a sizzling hot day, I went under two thick down comforters but still felt cold to my bone. The shivering was so violent that my whole body shook, my teeth chattered non-stop, and my muscles went so tense. I felt better after an hour and a half, but my whole body and muscles were very sore. Well.. my muscles were tensed up and shivered all the time while I was under the comforters so the soreness of the muscles is understandable. I don’t know what caused that sudden chill but I suspect dehydration, heat, low blood sugar(I didn’t eat properly that day), or some kind of infection. I paused my training since then. I will run again when my legs muscles feel good enough again.

One thing I want to say about Sunday’s ordeal is what my loyal corgis did for me. When I was shivering under the comforters, my corgis jumped on the bed and lay down on both sides of me as if they wanted to warm me up and protect me. It was very heartwarming. My husband was surprised because they didn’t move a bit at all for entire time. Usually they don’t stay on our bed that long, especially Jeter. He likes to be with us on the bed but once one of us moves a bit, he harrumphs and goes down to his own bed. Cappy stays on the bed longer than Jeter but she likes to stay near our feet. It was very rare she lies down leaning onto our upper body. So that day, the way they stayed next to me was quite unusual. I think my corgis worried about me šŸ™‚ Jeter didn’t go into his bed that night. He slept on the floor next to the bed. Every time I woke up, he was looking at me as if asking “Are you okay?”. Maybe they love me more than I think.

I’m feeling much better but my husband still worries about me. And I don’t want to run with weak legs and get frustrated. So I will have more rest days even though the weather is tempting. So maybe you won’t read things about running for a few more days on my blog. But I know you will understand.

Leave a Reply

