Happy running Tuesday

Running with my corgis means more things to prepare and bring. As the weather gets hotter these days, I need to bring even more things for them. This morning, I put ice cubes and two water bottles in a little cooler. And I put a big ziplock bag filled with some cold water to soak Cappy’s new pink cooling bandana and put the bag in the cooler. I grabbed Jeter’s cooling vest, a collapsible water bowl, dog treats and a banana for me. While I was preparing all these things, my corgis were getting so excited. After I dropped my husband off at the train station, we headed to the Forest Preserve Bike Trail.

Cappy wearing her new pink cooling bandana

At the parking lot, I took Cappy’s cooling bandana out from the ziplock bag and use the same bag with water to soak Jeter’s cooling vest. Then I took my corgis’ doggy car harnesses off, put cooling gear and leashes on, applied Musher’s Secret pet paw protector wax on 8 paws, wore my hydration belt and finally started to run. Before they came to my life, going to the forest trail to run was much simpler πŸ™‚ But I don’t mind doing all these things. They are my dogs and I love them to pieces. And I want them to run safely.

Jeter wearing his cooling vest

The temperature was 63 degrees when we started to run. It felt a bit cooler than 63, but with strong sunshine, the temperature went up quickly. Jeter and Cappy were full of energy today. I had some hard time to make them not to run too fast in the beginning. After some easy running for warm up, I ran faster than usual thanks to my little corgis. They were like energizer bunnies. Lucky for them, my legs felt good too and we all enjoyed today’s 4 mile-run.

“Let’s rest in the shadow!”

“Now it feels much better!!”

After the run, Jeter and Cappy ate some banana with me and enjoyed the car ride back home.Β Then they were pooped out πŸ™‚ Of course they did some neighborhood watch duty but most of the afternoon, they took naps on many different spots – in their crates, on their 3 different dog beds, on the sofa, on the new bench near the window, on a living room rug, and even on our bed upstairs πŸ™‚ Their sleeping faces looked happy and relaxed.

Jeter fell asleep on the sofa πŸ™‚

Cappy fell asleep on the bench πŸ™‚

Happy running, happy (and tired) corgis, and happy me.

One thought on “Happy running Tuesday

Leave a Reply

