Busy Sunday

I already knew today would be a hot day. So I should’ve got up super early to go to the trail to run 5 miles. But I failed to get up early. I felt tired and didn’t want to get up. I wanted to sleep more. I lost to the temptation of being lazy. That’s why I need a weekend early bird running buddy. Couple of years ago, I ran with my running buddy on weekends. We met at 5am and ran together. Sometimes I wanted to skip the early running and sleep more, but I couldn’t because I knew she was waiting for me. She said the same thing to me. We helped each other not to skip the weekend early morning run. But we got busy and I stopped running for more than two years. That’s how my weekend early run with her disappeared. I miss running with her. Maybe I should send her an email to say hi and ask her to run again with me.

Even though I felt guilty for not going out to run early, I enjoyed sleeping more. Then I went out for brunch with my husband and went to the stores. Crate & Barrel outlet had a sale going on today and I wanted to buy a large storage bin with a grommet I saw before. We went to the outlet store in Naperville. There were not that many cars on the highways thanks to the NATO summit and protesters. I got the storage bin I wanted and we bought a couple of more things over there. But many good things were already gone 😦

On the way back home, we saw a pet boutique ‘Two Bostons’ and stopped by. They offered us a piece of chocolate cake and lemonade. They said every second Sunday of the month, they celebrate pets’ birthdays. The cake for humans was pretty tasty. We wondered if one of my dear corgi owner friends who lives in the area knows about this store or has been there before. We bought a pink cooling bandana for Cappy and a couple of doggy treats – a carob Bosco brownie, a tailwagger (bacon and cheese) twist,and two peanut butter cups – for Jeter and Cappy. I gave the peanut butter cups to them when we were eating dinner and of course Jeter and Cappy loved them πŸ™‚

image

image

Brownie(top), Tailwagger (middle), and Peanut butter cups

After we came back home and took the corgis out, I went to the gym. It was after 5 pm but the temperature was still 92 degrees. It was too late to go to the trail and I didn’t want to deal with the heat any more today. But at the gym, it was as hot inside as it was outside. The only difference was no sunshine. It felt like I was running in an oven. But I did what I needed to do. On the long run day of the first week, I needed to run 5 miles today. I ran 5.25 miles and that completed the first week of Hal Higdon’s Half Marathon training program πŸ™‚ The first week’s low weekly mileage (23.95 miles) was easy on my legs and I enjoyed it. 1 week down, 11+ weeks to go.

Leave a Reply

