Day 133 – Polar HRM is alive again!

Yesterday at the race Expo, I saw the Polar heart rate monitor booth. Every race expo I’ve been, I saw their booth but it was the first time I saw it’s providing a battery change service. My Polar HRM batteries are dead. I use a Garmin when I run around the neighborhood but GPS doesn’t work right at the forest preserve trail so I just use the HRM over there. And at the gym, if I wear the Polar chest strap, the Polar treadmill shows my heart rate. I needed to replace the batteries but I kept putting off sending them to the service center because it felt like a hassle. Instead of doing that, I even considered buying another Garmin or a new HRM. Then I saw the Polar booth with battery changing service! I don’t need to send a package, I don’t need to wait, I don’t need to pay the shipping. So we went back to the expo again this morning. It was way more crowded than yesterday afternoon. I replaced the batteries for my wrist unit and transmitter. I bought a new chest strap too. Total cost was $35. It was cheaper than buying a new one or Garmin.

When we were done at the expo we went to Ina’s for brunch. My omelet wasn’t that good but the vegetable hash my husband ordered was pretty good. I wish I ordered a BLT sandwich instead of the omelet. One old lady at the next table was eating a BLT and it looked so good.

After going here and there and taking the doggies out, it was already late in the afternoon. I went to the gym and ran 3.24 miles. I didn’t want to do too much. I don’t know what to expect tomorrow. Yesterday my legs felt better but today, they felt heavy again. Two weeks ago I was cruising so well until I got that side pain. Since the side pain, everything didn’t feel right and it feels like I failed to get myself ready for the race. It is disappointing but well.. it will not be my last race. I will just try to enjoy it tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “Day 133 – Polar HRM is alive again!

  1. Hey, can you link to the Polar HRM and running GPS device you use? I am looking into purchasing something along those lines myself. Is it hard getting used to the chest strap? Any recommendations on where to buy?

    • What I use are a Polar F11 and a Garmin forerunner 405. I bought the Polar at ‘heartratemonitorusa.com’ when it was on sale few years ago. The Garmin 405, was bought at Costco. For a basic HRM, Polar F11 was good enough but you can’t use a foot pod. Newer models have more functions but the price is much higher. Garmin 405 is good and has many useful functions but sometimes the bezels can drive you crazy. There are so many reviews about GPS/HRM/running watches but you can check this article from ‘Runner’s World’ http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-240-321–14136-2-1-2,00.html
      For me, it wasn’t that hard to get used to the chest strap 🙂

Leave a Reply

