Day 131 – Short run before the rain

These days I have been thinking a lot about the pros and cons of ‘running everyday’. Because recently the quality of my run hasn’t been good enough. It felt like my fitness went backwards to square one. I don’t have a pain in my legs but I can’t run at my normal pace which is not fast at all. I’m running like an 80 year old woman. My husband thinks my legs are overused and he suggested that I take a real rest day. I can’t say I didn’t think the same way. I know about the benefit/importance of a rest day. But still, even after having many frustrating runs in a row, I can’t just have a rest day. Is this streak thing becoming a borderline obsession? Am I just stubborn? Or is there any good reason left to keep the streak alive? I think the answer is “all of the above”.

I don’t want to be controlled by the “streak”. I don’t want to be obsessed. I don’t want to risk my health for the sake of the streak. After I completed my original goal – 100 days of running – , my new goal was “running better and wiser”. But still, I am running everyday. I love to have running as my daily habit. I don’t need to think about ‘run today or not’. And to be honest, I’m afraid to stop running for a long time just like last time. Counting days of running actually help me not to give up. So I’m still on the fence. But there are things I know I will do. I will stop counting days on the DailyMile, but will continue to write here to log my memories. And, I will have a real rest day when I want to. It can be tomorrow or next week. I will keep my daily mileage to a minimum for a while. For now that’s what I can say.

Today I walked/ran 3.11 miles around the neighborhood. I came back home just before the rain started to pour. Thanks to the short run, I could see through the windows the raindrops falling instead of being caught in the rain. Thanks to the short run, I could spend more time playing with my corgis today. Sometimes, less is really more.

4 thoughts on “Day 131 – Short run before the rain

  1. Great post. I totally understand feeling like an 80-year-old on some runs! [except when the 80-year-old women start passing me. *&$#!] Hang in there! A crappy run just means your body is building up a great one to come 🙂

  2. You are doing great and maybe you do need a rest day! If you ever break the streak I will start over with you so you have a way to stay accountable! You are inspiring and have come so far. If your body is telling you you need a break listen.

Leave a Reply

