Day 117 – Take it easy

When I started to run again, the injuries I worried about were leg related ones, something like shin splints or Iliotibial band syndrome. But what bothered me today was nothing but the side stitch!

The day before yesterday I went out to run and struggled against the wind. That night I felt a slight pain in my left side below the rib cage. I thought I pulled the muscle. The next morning the pain was gone. My legs were good. So I did the scheduled speed work without any problem. But last night, that pain came back. It was not really painful but made me frustrated. I couldn’t move certain ways easily,lying down and getting up required some effort. I hoped that the pain would have gone away this morning but it didn’t. Sigh.

It was that windy day. I think that day’s gusty winds I struggled against gave me this pain. I think that day I didn’t breathe right because of the wind and that caused some stress on my diaphragm. Plus yesterday’s speed work which made me breathe fast and hard didn’t help either. It doesn’t hurt when I walk or run slowly. So I went to the gym and ran 3.18 miles slowly. If it hurts when I run, I wouldn’t do that just for the sake of a “streak”. I already completed my 100 day running project. The reason why I’m running everyday is just because I like to do it. Not for the streak. I’m not interested in joining the ‘United States Running Streak Association’ – yes, this is a real organization 🙂

The light workout helped the blood flow. And I iced my left side after I came home. I also did some deep inhale/exhale exercise repeats and took some rest. It felt much better in the evening. But I will be careful about it for awhile. Anyway according to the training plan I’m following now, today and tomorrow are the easy 3 miles days. I’ll see how I feel and maybe I will skip the weekend longer runs to be safe. When it comes to running, “No pain, My gain”.

Funny thing is… when I need to hold back, I want to do the long runs more!

Leave a Reply

