Day 49

The last day of 2011. I took Jeter and Cappy out this morning then went to the gym. It will be filled with many New-Year’s-resolution-starting crowd tomorrow but today there were not that many people at the gym. I ran 5.03 miles today. And I competed the 7th week(33.77 miles).I think I need to have a real easy day like running just over 3 miles but it’s getting hard to run less. Maybe next week I will throw in some real easy days.

Even though there were less people than usual at the gym, I saw one guy who was wearing exactly the same running top as me. The running top I wore today was from the 5k race. You can say “oh not an unusual coincidence” but I found it funny and quite unusual. Because that was the one time only ‘5k on the runway’ race at O’Hare airport.

In 2008 when one of the new runways of O’Hare international airport was completed, this unique 5k was held. The race course was the new runway. I registered early because it sounded fun. When can you run on a new runway? On the race day, I got the race t-shirt. My husband was there with me as my supporter. He saw the t-shirt I got and said “That’s a cool t-shirt. I want one.” So he registered, too. Just for the race t-shirt πŸ™‚ He didn’t plan to do the 5k that day but he was getting curious about the newest runway so he changed his mind at the last minute and we did it together. It was September but a sunny and hot day. And of course there is no shade at all πŸ™‚ My husband was wearing a cotton shirt and shorts with a leather belt on πŸ™‚ It was more a fun event rather than a race. Some people brought tape measures and checked the runway. There were many strollers and some people pushed their parent’s wheelchairs. Whenever airplanes were taking off or landing on nearby runway, people stopped and took pictures. That was a really fun day. I wore that race t-shirt several times before but today was the first time I wore it at the gym. Unlike our previous gym, the gym I go to now, it is quite rare to see someone who wears any race t-shirt. Not to mention that one time only race t-shirt. And that guy was an Asian, too. What a coincidence πŸ™‚

Ten years ago today, I met my husband in person for the first time at the Navy Pier. I remember everything just like it was yesterday but it’s 10 years already!!

Only a few hours until 2012. Hope you have a happy and healthy New Year!!

Leave a Reply

