Day 31

Since I started my 100 days of running at least 3 miles a day project, I have been doing pretty good without any major problem. But today I had a scary moment which could end my running project at day 31.

We went to the gym early in the morning. I was surprised that my husband woke up early after having a long tiring day yesterday 🙂 I ran 4.04 miles and he walked 2.85 miles. My legs felt a little bit tired from yesterday’s faster pace running and more than 4 hours of walking with heavy shoes. But I ran. And I felt better.

During the day I took a much needed rest. The last couple of days I didn’t sleep enough, my mileage went up a little, and I had more things to take care of like Christmas decorations and my corgis’ vet visit. I don’t like feeling tired like this. It’s not a good tired feeling. So I took a rest. My corgis, who played hard yesterday at DD, did the same thing with me. Everything was okay until I took them out for the afternoon walk.

When we were out, Jeter and Cappy were alert and kind of growling at a man walking toward to us. Usually Jeter does that toward another dog sometimes but not at people. Cappy is a really sweet girl and friendly to everyone – sometimes too friendly. So their behavior today was quite unusual and I tried to check out the guy they were growling at while taking my dogs to the other side. And that was the moment I misstepped on the uneven part of sidewalk. I felt pain on my left ankle and yelped. I managed to move to the bench and sat down. The first thought in my mind was “will I be able to run tomorrow?”. I touched my left ankle and tried to move it. It felt numb for a minute but thankfully started to feel better. I sat there for some more time. Jeter and Cappy were so worried and gave me kisses. I hugged them, too.

After some time, I could walk my dogs without any pain. When I came back home, I started RICE – resting, icing, compressing, and elevating – my ankle. I don’t know how my ankle survived after being turned so badly. I don’t have any pain and felt so lucky. But I will be very careful tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “Day 31

  1. It does sound lucky. Take it easy, like you’re doing. I’ve been forced to take things easy while I’m sick and although I’m getting antsy, I know it’s the right thing right now..

Leave a Reply

