The 1st day..starting over

I am a runner. I am just not a fast one. I belong to the back of the pack. But I am a runner.
I don’t know what made me join the world of running. One day in spring of 2008, I started to run. In spite of some unexpected health problems, I ran two marathons, two half marathons, a couple of 5Ks, a 10K, and a Chicago shamrock shuffle – that year was crazy running in the snow and slush!

I enjoyed running along the Michigan Lake and a Cook county forest preserve trail. I loved running. Yes, I am talking about the past. For quite some time I didn’t run. I felt guilty whenever I read my running magazines. I kept talking/thinking about running again but I have been lazy. Super lazy. Without running, I gained weight and lost my fitness. I need to run again. That’s why I started this blog. It will be my running log and the token of my commitment.

So today, I went to the gym. I did 3.57 miles of walking/running. I know it wasn’t that much but It’s my first day to get back running. I will do at least 3 miles everyday the next 100 days. My corgis-Jeter and Cappy- will run with me when I run outside. This is my promise. This will be my battle against myself and I will be victorious.

4 thoughts on “The 1st day..starting over

Leave a Reply

